Privileges FAQ

From CommitCRM-Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
FAQ > Privileges FAQ

Questions



How are privileges/permissions managed in CommitCRM?

CommitCRM provides an advanced, customizable privileges system that lets you manage exactly who sees what, and which employee can update specific information. A System Administrator can manage permissions in CommitCRM by assigning each user to a Privilege Group. For each privilege group you can define a set of privileges by subject.

By default, there are four different Privilege groups: Full, Partial, Limited, and System Administrator (Sys Admin). Note that Sys Admin group cannot be configured. For more details on the predefined Privilege Groups, click here.


How do I assign an employee to a specific Privilege group?

To assign an employee to a specific privilege group, go to the Employees window and select the specific employee. Next, select the Employee tab on the bottom of the page and click on the Configure User button. A drop-down menu now appears. Select “configure user” from this list, which opens a window listing all Privilege Groups. Select the privilege group in which you would like to place the employee and save the changes.


Can I create a new Privilege Group?

Yes. Users with System Administrator privileges can go to the File menu > Users and Privileges. Open the Privileges window, click on the Privileges Group menu, select New, and define your own settings.


What is a System Administrator (Sys Admin) in CommitCRM?

A System Administrator (Sys Admin) is a user who has been given the authority to perform and use all the options in CommitCRM, including creating new users, customizing reports etc. The username that is entered at the first login to CommitCRM is set by the system as a user with System Administrator privileges.

The Administrator can create new users for employee records, and these users can also be set as administrators.


How can I find out who the System Administrators are?

From the main menu go to File > Users and Privileges > Show Administrators.


How can I see the different privileges associated with each Privilege group?

To manage or view the privilege settings included in each group you must have System Administrator privileges. If this is the case, go to File > User and Privileges > Privileges. A window then opens, listing the different privilege groups. Select a privilege group to see which privileges it is allowed.

Click here for more details on the meaning of the different privileges.


What is the meaning of the different Privileges?

The following are short descriptions of some of the different Privileges:

List and Values: Determines whether a user may edit drop-down lists. For example, a user with this privilege can add values to the City drop-down list (and most other drop-down lists in the software). Only these users can edit lists, add values lists, etc.


Batch Update: Determines whether a user may use the Batch Update for the Accounts feature. This feature lets a user update many accounts at once and set a new value to specific fields for all Accounts displayed in the list. This privilege should be assigned carefully.


Add Group Interaction: Determines whether a user can add a History Note to a batch of accounts at once.


Page Designer: Determines whether a user can customize the tabs and add or update database fields.


Export Data: Determines whether a user may export data from the system using the Export tool. Since the Export tool is quite powerful and allows users to export any information they choose, low-security users should not be assigned this privilege.


Knowledge Base: Determines whether the user will have access to the Knowledge Base articles. See more details in the Knowledge Base user guide under Security and Privileges section.


Tickets: Determines whether a user may add and update tickets to the system.


Other Employee articles: Determines whether users with the Knowledge Base privilege (see above), can view/update added by other employees


Other Employee . . . History Notes; Calendars; Opportunities; Tickets: The "Other Employee'" privileges determine whether users will be able to view information added or owned by other users, in any of the features listed above. This is useful if you wish to restrict users to their activity only, preventing them from viewing all office activity.


Activity Templates: Determines whether users with the Activity Templates privilege can apply, create, or edit Activity Templates. See more details in the Activity Templates user guide under Privileges section.


Financial privileges
Items: Determines whether users can modify Item details, change Item prices, etc.


Charges Incl. Finance: Determines whether an employee can see rates and prices used in Charges. Although users who do not have this privilege will be able to add charges, select an item, and set the amount (in hours or units), they will not be able to view the item's price or the total price for the charge. They will also not have access to Charge reports.


Rates: Determines whether an employee can see other employee rates.


Contracts-Manage: Determines whether users can modify Contract information. If they do not have this privilege, then they can only select Contracts for Charges and Tickets but not modify the block value or update the service description.


Contracts—Finance: This allows a user to update the contract block and to add Contract-Price Charges. See Contract-Price Charges.


Custom Pricing: Determines whether users have access to the Custom Pricing of accounts and contracts, and whether they are allows to modify the custom-pricing definitions. System administrators are usually the only employees granted this privilege. See more details in the Custom Pricing user guide.


Other Employee Charges: Determines whether an employee can see their Charges or Charges added by other employees as well.


QuickBooks: Determines whether a user will be able to activate the QuickBooks menu and options, import information from QuickBooks, create invoices, etc.

How can I let employees create charges without allowing them to see the price?

You may allow an employee to add new Charges to CommitCRM in order to log in the work performed for an Account, while preventing them from seeing the actual price for this Charge.

To do this, set the following Privileges as follows:

  1. Items – Remove all privileges from Items Privileges for the privilege group, then the user (employee) is allowed to use Items when adding new Charges without being allowed to view/edit the Items definition.
  2. Charges Incl. Finance – Remove all privileges from this group, then the user will be able to add new Charges but only the hours/units without the price.

Note that employees who add Charges this way will not be able to view or set the price. This means that they should be using predefined Items with either a "fixed price" or "Rate by employee" price in order for the Charge to have a price (i.e. have a total amount for the Charge).

Alternatively, use an Item without a price, have the technician set the amount of units/hours, and set the price later (manually) by an authorized user.


How can I change the password for another employee?

Log in to CommitCRM using a SysAdmin user.

Open the Employees window > select the relevant employee > click on the Employee tab > click Configure User... > and click 'Set Password...'


See Also